Wastewater Treatment

This division is responsible for the operation of the Village’s sanitary sewer treatment plant, which is located in DuPage County. The plant, which has been awarded the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency Plant of the Year in both 1994 and 2013, treats all wastewater from the DuPage County portion of the Village. The sewage from the Cook County portion of the Village is treated by the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago.

Service Goals for the Community

This division's goal is to protect the receiving stream water quality by continuous and efficient plant performance, and produce a quality effluent that meets the parameters set forth by the Federal and State Environmental Protection Agencies.

Staff and Operations

The division, which is comprised of the Wastewater Treatment Plant Supervisor and four plant operators, is also responsible for the eight sanitary sewer lift stations throughout the Village.